NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH H = .
Vital Records Seclion, Genealogy Unit G en eral I nfO rm atl on an d Ap p I |Cat|0n

oy, Now Yotk 122202602 For Genealogical Services

VITAL RECORDS COPIES CANNQT BE PROVIDED FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES.

1. FEE - $22.00 includes search and uncertified copy or notification of no record.

2. Oniginal records of births and marriages for the entire state begin with 1881, deaths begin with 1880, EXCEPT for records filed in
Albany, Buffalo and Yonkers prior to 1914. Applications for these cities should be made directly to the local office.

3. The New York Staie Department of Health does not have New York City records except for births accurring in Queens and
Richmond counties for the years 1881 through 1897.

4. Please read the Administrative Rule Summary on the reverse side of this sheet which specifies years available for genealogical
research.

To insure a complete search, provide as much information as possible.
Please complete for type of record requested, birth, death OR marriage.

.7 Name at Birth

Date of Birth

Date of Birth

Place of Birth

| Place of Birth

1 Father's Name T Father's Name

Mot'her’s Maiden Name

Mother's Maiden Name

| Name of Bride | Name of Bride

Name of Grbom : Name of Groom

Date of Marriage Date of Marriage

Place of Marriage = Place of Marriage
: andfor License andfor License

Name at Death Name at Death

A Date of Death Age at Death | Date of Death Age at Death

Place of Death Place of Death

Names of Parents Names of Parents

Name of Spouse .| Name of Spouse

For what purpose is information required?

What is your relationship to person whose record is requested?

In what capacity are you acting?

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

ADDRESS
Send record to: (please print) If requesting birth and marriage records, please sign the following
statemant:
Name To the best of my knowledge, the person{s) named in the application
' are deceased.
Address
City State Zip Code SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

DOH-1562 {06/2003) {over)



Health Commissioner’s

Administrative Rules and Regulations
Summary

1. Genealogical Research

Uncertified copies or abstracts from records of birth, death, and marriage may be provided for
genealogical research purposes subject to the restrictions specified in this summary. All requests
must be submitted in writing and include payment of the applicable statutory fee. The applicant shall
be required to pay the specified fee for the time spent for the search and uncertified copy of
notification of no record.

2. Who is authorized to do the searching?

Record searches shall be conducted only by the following persons in the files maintained by their
respective agencies:

a. authorized employees of the State Department of Health;
b. alocal registrar, deputy registrar, or an authorized employee of the registrar;
c. atown or city clerk, deputy clerk, or an authorized employee of the town or city clerk.

3. What records are available?

a. No information shall be released from a record of birth which has been placed in a confidential file
pursuant to Public Health Law Section 4138,

b. No information shall be released from a record of birth unless the record has been on file for at
g-zast 75dyears and the person to whom the record relates is known to the applicant to be
eceased.

c. No information shall be released from a record of death unless ihe record has been on file for at
least 50 years.

d. No information shall be released from a record of marriage unless the record has been on file for
at least 50 years and the parties to the marriage are known to the applicant to be deceased.

e. The time periods specified in (SB%, EC}Z, and éSD) are waived if the applicant is a descendant or
has heen designated to act on behalf of a descendant of the person whose record is being
requested. A descendant is a person in the direct line of descent. The applicant shal! provide
documentation of descendancy prior to the release of information in those instances where a
waiver of the waiting period is requested. A party acting on behalf of a descendant shall further
provide documentation that the descendant authorized the pariy io make such application.

f. All uncertified copies, abstracts, or information issued for genealogical research purposes shall be
clearly marked with the statement "For Genealogical Purposes Only."

4. Genealogy Fee Schedule

Fee schedule per one spelling of name. Fee varies depending on requested number of years o be
searched. Unused fees will be refunded.

1-3 years $22.00 31-40 years $102.00
4-10 years $42.00 41-50 years $122.00
11-20 years $62.00 51-60 years $142.00
21-30 years $82.00 61-70 years $162.00

DOH-1562 (06/20083)



